FrançaisEnglish

Drink a glass of wine is still to get to the bottom of things.

Manuel Vasquez Montalban

To make great wines, one needs a living, breathing terroir that produces grapes full of energy,, minerals, good maturity (ripe but not overripe, good maturity (ripe but not overripe which implies that we have grapes with a slight degree of heterogeneity)), well balanced and then. of course, the philosophy of crafting wine , so as to preserve all of its qualities.

Harvesting grapes in small crates, vatting them by gravity without crushing the grapes, Sorting with both care and measure. We do not believe in sorting the harvest by means of density measurements (in our opinion, a manner of standardizing the vintages), neither by optical scanning (allows for electromagnetic pollution of the harvest). By trying too hard, these methods end up , by removing , complexity from the greater whole. For example, by having a small percentage of grapes with an aromatic maturity and noble rot co-existing with the majority of grapes reaching phenolic , can represent an added touch rather than a hindrance .

Furthermore we work as much as possible in air-tight environments, letting the aromas, and colours infuse and steep before the fermentations (uniquely with natural indigenous yeasts), and by using cold settling for white wines so as to expurgate the juice from the lees as much as possible during the cold, pre-fermentation maceration.

Nicolas Cosse, and therefore

We practice extremely delicate extractions (temperature at 25/26°C) during the alcoholic fermentation in order to adjust the construction of the wine (attack, mid-palate and length) during the post-fermentation maceration.
Then, during the barrel ageing (never more than 30% new wood), base our interventions on the needs of the wine. We take great care in choosing our barrels and increasingly work with, casks with a specific origin and seek low, soft toasts.
In our Grand Wine (Clos Puy Arnaud), we do not heat our wines for their malo-lactic fermentation. We work in the “Burgundy style” by waiting for the following spring and summer so that the winery, naturally heats up, permitting for the “malo's” to start off. This method is accompanied by a micro-biological follow-up of each lot so as to control any eventual quality deviations.
This manner has permitted us, since the 2006 to reduce significantly the doses of total SO2 (the only exogenous agricultural product remaining in use) at bottling time (approximately 60 mg after 18 months of ageing with a minimum of 1 year in barrel).
We must take the utmost care in all of the daily undertakings (numerous toppings- up), and often barrel sample to stay in close contact with the wine and knowing, for example, when is the most propitious time to interrupt the barrel ageing so as to finish off this process in the vats.

With respect to our wine range, we now make 3 different cuvee’s.

Together with our Grand Wine (Clos Puy Arnaud), we produce the Cuvee Pervenche which is a fruity wine with a medium ageing potential, and the cuvee Bistro which is a wholly fruit-driven wine.
These two cuvees are important since they allow us to work incrementally each year, on the pure expression of “the fruit” and to produce different wines which is, in itself, a stimulating factor. It also permits us to seek out and meet with new consumers.

 

 

Be Sociable, Share!

FrançaisEnglish

Boire un verre de vin c’est toujours aller au fond des choses.

Manuel Vasquez Montalban

Pour faire des grands vins, il faut un terroir vivant produisant des raisins plein d’énergie, de minéralité, de belle maturité (c’est à dire bien mûrs mais pas surmaturés, ce qui revient à accepter d’avoir des raisins qui présentent un léger degré d’hétérogénéité), bien équilibrés. Ensuite la philosophie de l’élaboration du vin, c’est de préserver au maximum toutes ces qualités.

Ramasser les raisins en cagettes, entonner par gravité sans fouler les raisins, trier avec beaucoup de soin mais aussi de la mesure. Nous ne sommes pas partisans des tris par densimétrie (à notre avis facteurs de banalisation des millésimes), ni du tri optique (pollution électro magnétique de la vendange). Ces méthodes aboutissent par ailleurs, en voulant trop bien faire, à enlever de la complexité à l’ensemble. Par exemple, avoir un petit pourcentage de raisins à  maturité aromatique et aussi de pourriture noble encadrant une grande majorité de raisins à maturité phénolique, loin de nuire peut apporter un plus .

Ensuite nous travaillons le plus possible à l’abri de l’air, en laissant infuser les arômes, la couleur avant les fermentations (uniquement sur levures indigènes), et en utilisant les techniques de débourbage au froid afin de garder les lies fines.

Nicolas Cosse, Maître de chai

Nous pratiquons des extractions tout en douceur (température de 25/26°) pendant la fermentation alcoolique afin d’ajuster la construction du vin (attaque, milieu de bouche et fin de bouche) pendant la macération post fermentaire.
Ensuite, pendant l’élevage en barrique (jamais plus de 30% de barriques neuves), nous nous basons pour les interventions sur les besoins du vin. Nous prenons grand soin à choisir nos barriques et de plus en plus, nous travaillons sur des fûts d’origine en recherchant des chauffes douces et à coeur.
Sur le grand vin (Clos Puy Arnaud), nous ne chauffons pas nos vins pour réaliser la fermentation malolactique. Nous travaillons à la « bourguignonne » en attendant le printemps et l’été suivant que le chai, en se réchauffant naturellement, permette aux « malos » de s’enclencher. Cette méthode s’accompagne d’un suivi microbiologique des lots  afin de contrôler d’éventuelles déviations arômatiques.
Cette façon de faire nous a permis depuis le millésime 2006 de réduire de manière très significative les doses de SO2 total (seul intrant encore utilisé) à l’embouteillage (environ 60mg après 18 mois d’élevage dont 1 an minimum en barrique).
Nous devons  être très soigneux dans tous les petits gestes du quotidien (ouillages nombreux), gouter souvent les fûts pour bien rester au contact du vin et savoir, par exemple, quand il est judicieux d’interrompre l’élevage sous bois pour passer en cuve.

Concernant la gamme nous élaborons désormais 3 différentes cuvées.

A côté du Grand Vin, nous produisons la Cuvée Pervenche qui est un vin de fruit et de moyenne garde, et la Cuvée Bistrot qui est un vin de fruit.
Ces deux cuvées sont importantes pour nous car elles nous permettent de travailler chaque année davantage, sur l’expression pure du « fruit » et de produire des vins différents ce qui est un facteur de stimulation. Cela nous permet aussi d’aller à la rencontre de nouveaux consommateurs.

 

 

Be Sociable, Share!