FrançaisEnglish

You will find more in Woods than in books.
The trees and rocks will teach you things that no master won't tell you.

Saint Bernard de Clairvaux

It was 30 million years ago that rock limestone “asteries” were formed by the earth.
The rock that was mined in all of the Gironde areas equally the geological bedrock of the greatest terroirs ((basis of the majority of classified growths and first classified growths) ) of Saint Emilion. It is the “Astéries” rock limestone from the stampian floor of inferior Oligocene, a geological period of the middle of the tertiary period. This limestone derives its name from the innumerable “Asteria” fossils, organisms that had descended from starfish, and hence the star on our wine labels.
This limestone of “asteries” is also found, among other areas, in the Médoc area in St Julien and as well as in Sauternes in Barsac..
France possesses approximately 70% % the world’s limestone-planted vineyards which explain the great diversity and excellence of the great wines of France.

The Asteries rock limestone is predominant at Puy Arnaud (100% % of our parcels are on the commune of Belvès). which bring much finesse,, freshness and minerals to the grapes and produces a bouquet, worthy of the “grand terroirs” (floral, spice,and truffles), to integrate little by little for the 10 first 10 years in the bottle.
The parcels situated in St Genes de Castillon are partly on a mixture of Asteries rock limestone / Castillon limestone and partly on tuff or tuff scree’s. The latter terroirs give off a stronger tannic structure with an aromatic expression of red and soft black fruit.
85% % of the surface area is on limestone plateaus , 15% % on hillsides or on the base of hillsides.
The soils of the plateaus are meager, between the outcrop of rocks in certain areas and a maximum depth of 50 cm.
The exposures are interesting with a maximum duration of sunlight from sunrise to sunset..
majority of parcels receive the sunrise rays that, according to recent studies, bring a quality of light favourable to the vines (particularly in this period of climate change).There is also good ventilation on these plateaus situated between 90 and 100 meters.

The conditions of the “Terroir” are, therefore, very interesting but they require agricultural work with strict respect to the balance of the biotope to truly show their best results since it is the altered rock and in combination with organic matter that makes up a terroir, it is never the rock alone.

 

 

 

Click to enlarge the map

 

 

 

Be Sociable, Share!

FrançaisEnglish

Tu trouveras plus dans les forêts que dans les livres.
Les arbres et les rochers t’enseigneront les choses qu’aucun maitre ne te dira.

Saint Bernard de Clairvaux

Il y a 30 millions d’années naissait le calcaire à astéries.
La roche exploitée dans toute la Gironde et qui est aussi le soubassement géologique des plus grands terroirs (siège de la grande majorité des crus classés et des Premiers crus classés) de Saint Emilion est le « calcaire à astéries » de l’étage stampien de l’Oligocène inférieur, une période géologique du milieu de l’ère tertiaire. Ce calcaire doit son nom aux innombrables fossiles d’Astéria, organisme apparenté aux étoiles de mer d’où l’étoile sur les étiquettes de nos vins.
Ce calcaire à astéries se retrouve aussi entre autre dans le Médoc par exemple à Saint Julien ainsi que dans le Sauternais à Barsac.
La France possède environ 70% des terres calcaires viticoles dans le monde ce qui est une des explications de la diversité et de l’excellence des grands vins français.

Les calcaires à astéries sont prédominants à Puy Arnaud (100% des parcelles sur la commune de Belvès). Ils apportent beaucoup de finesse, de fraicheur et de minéralité aux raisins et permettent à un bouquet, digne des « grands terroirs » (floral, épices,truffe), de se mettre en place petit à petit pendant les 10 premières années de bouteille.
Les parcelles situées à st genes de castillon sont pour partie sur un mélange calcaires à astéries / calcaire de castillon et pour partie sur du Tuff ou des éboulis de tuff. Ces derniers terroirs donnent plus de puissance tannique avec une expression aromatique fruits rouges fruits noirs.
85% des surfaces sont sur plateaux calcaires , 15% sur des côtes et pied de côtes.
Les sols de  plateaux sont peu épais, entre l’affleurement de la roche à certains endroits et un maximum de profondeur de 50 cm.
Les expositions sont intéressantes avec  des durées d’ensoleillement maximales du levant au couchant.
La majorité des parcelles recoivent les rayons du soleil levant qui semblent apporter selon les études les plus récentes, une qualité de lumière très favorable à la vigne (particulièrement en période de réchauffement climatique). Il y a aussi une bonne ventilation sur ces plateaux situés entre 90 et 100 mètres d’altitude.

Les conditions du potentiel « Terroir » sont donc très intéressantes mais elles nécessitent une agriculture au plus proche du respect des équilibres du biotope  pour être vraiment révélées car c’est la roche altérée et combinée avec la matière organique qui fait le terroir, ce n’est jamais la roche seule.

 

 

 

Cliquer sur la carte pour l’agrandir

 

 

 

Be Sociable, Share!